Go to top of page

Child Safety and Wellbeing Advisory Panel (CSWAP)

Governance groups oversee and advise on child protection system reforms and how they will be implemented. Refer to the Child Protection Reform Governance Framework (PDF 945KB) for more details.

The Child Safety and Wellbeing Advisory Panel aims to drive genuine partnership across the child protection sector.

About the panel

The panel provides opportunities for non-government and government agencies to work together to deliver whole-of-system child protection reforms.

The panel will meet quarterly and is co-chaired by a non-government and government representative.

Membership on the panel is by ministerial appointment with representation from Aboriginal services, non-government agencies, the academic sector, legal services and various government departments.

Peak bodies on the panel represent families and carers.

The voice of children and young people is represented through the Guardian for Children and Young People and the Commissioner for Children and Young People.


  • Sharron William, CEO - Aboriginal Family Support Services
  • Rick Persse, Chief Executive - Department for Education and Child Development


  • Aboriginal Legal Rights Movement (and Aboriginal Community Leadership Reference Group representative)
  • Australian Centre for Child Protection
  • Child and Family Welfare Association
  • Child Development Council
  • Commissioner for Children and Young People
  • Connecting Foster Carers
  • CREATE Foundation
  • Crown Solicitor’s Office
  • Department for Child Protection
  • Department for Communities and Social Inclusion
  • Department of Health and Ageing
  • Early Intervention Research Directorate
  • Guardian for Children and Young People
  • National Voice for our Children (SNAICC)
  • South Australian Commissioners for Aboriginal Engagement
  • South Australian Council of Social Service
  • South Australian Police
  • Youth Court.

Secretariat for the panel is provided by the Child Protection Reform Implementation Team in the Department for Child Protection.

Additional information

Meeting minutes:

  • Once ratified, meeting minutes will be available here. 



Reform Implementation team

Email: CPReform [at] sa.gov.au